My "Five Faves"

Lakes you can love

Published online: Aug 10, 2010 Feature By Shannon Hoffmann
Viewed 835 time(s)

Charles Barkley seems to have an awful lot of time to talk about his favorite "five" for his cell phone these days, now it's my turn to share my "five"-lakes, that is. By the way, this is not just a BYOB piece (bring your own boat). When asked where I would want to take the family for a houseboating vacation, and meaning a place where we could rent a great boat and kick around for a week or so, the following five make my potential "faves" list.

Most of them have houseboat rental options available. I quizzed my husband about where he would like to go first. Since we didn't see any houseboats on our very favorite place, Turtle Bay on O'ahu where 20 plus foot waves can be found, we agreed on five intriguing lakes. Let's go lake hopping now. Beautiful domestic waters abound here on the mainland. You'll find detailed rental information at www.houseboatrentals.com, and you can search by state on the site to find your perfect spot, but in the meantime here is a sampling.

 

Lake Cumberland. Ky.

One of the largest man-made bodies of water east of the Mississippi is where you want to be for good fishing and over 63 water-acres for pleasure cruising. You're sure to find the rest and relaxation you have been looking for. While you're resting, do so assured that there is plenty to do when you're ready to get back in the swing of things at the golf course, have some fun riding horses or even just play in the water. You'll find something for everyone at Lake Cumberland.

Some of the rental options available on Lake Cumberland include:

Beaver Creek Resort: www.beavercreekmarina.com

Burnside Marina: www.burnsidemarina.com

Conley Bottom Resort: www.conleybottom.com

Lake Cumberland State Dock: www.statedock.com

WaterWay Adventures, Inc.: www.waterwayadventures.com

 

Dale Hollow Lake, Ky.

Dale Hollow Lake is full of fun options, and it may be easier to list what isn't found there. You'll find an event for everything from fishing tournaments to street fests and celebrations of history. Think of it as a vacationer's paradise whether you're a retiree, fisherman, a retired fisherman, photographer or are just looking for a beautiful place to relax and get away. 

You might find your perfect rental on Dale Hollow at one of the following:

Hendricks Creek Resort: www.hendrickscreek1.com

Sulphur Creek Resort: www.sulphurcreek.com

Sunset Marina: http: www.sunsetmarina.com

 

Lake Lanier, Ga.

Visit some of the best houseboating water in the south when you choose Lanier just north of Atlanta. Coves and islands for exploring are plentiful with 520 miles of shoreline to relax on. When you're ready to go to shore, you'll find plenty to do whether it be horseback riding or taking a relaxing bike ride. You may even find yourself hiking or playing tennis when not enjoying the 38,000 water acres of this beautiful water playground.

Two rental options for Lanier include:

Carters Lake Marina and Resort: www.carterslake.com

Lake Lanier Islands/Harbor Landing: www.lakelanierislands.com

 

 Shasta Lake, Calif.

This peaceful, beautiful, man-made reservoir with a view of majestic Mount Shasta has the atmosphere you may be looking for if you're ready to relax among the lush greenery and towering trees. The picturesque steep rocky shoreline without beaches is still packed with fun because of the many inlets and coves available to explore.  This large boater's paradise invites you to take some time off and enjoy some fishing, hunting and spelunking as in the famed O'Brien area as well.

Some rental options on Shasta Lake are:

Antlers Resort & Marina Inc.: www.shastalakevacations.com

Jones Valley Resort-Shasta Lake Resorts: www.houseboats.com

Lakeview Marina Resort: houseboat-rentals.gordonsguide.com/lakeviewresort

Seven Crown Resorts-Bridge Bay Resort: www.sevencrown.com/lakes/lake_shasta

Shasta Marina Resort: www.shastalake.net

Silverthorn Resort: www.silverthornresort.com

 

Lake Powell, Utah

Get away on gorgeous Lake Powell. Houseboat while exploring the path nature has carved through the beautiful, age-old sandstone. Natural bridges include one of the seven wonders of the world, Rainbow Bridge, that Mother Nature has fine-tuned over the years are to be found throughout the 2,000 miles of colorful shoreline. This recreational wonderland also boasts beautiful Glen Canyon, which helps the Colorado River along to the Grand Canyon, as well as the Grand Staircase National Monument.

Here are a few places to try for great rental options:

Antelope Point Marina: www.antelopepointlakepowell.com

Forever Resorts, LLC: lakepowellhouseboating.com

Lake Powell Houseboat Rentals: www.lake-powell-houseboat-rentals.com

Lake Powell Vacations: www.lakepowellvacations.com

Lake Powell Resorts & Marinas: www.lakepowell.com

 

Be sure to take some time out and take a look at www.houseboatrentals.com. This is the one place you can find all the houseboat rental information you need to help you plan that perfect vacation. You'll be amazed at all the options available for your houseboating fun, whether you're just getting into it or are a seasoned houseboater.

Follow us on Facebook!   Follow us on Instagram!   Follow us on Pinterest!   Follow us on YouTube!