PDA

View Full Version : 12V Wiring Question

MCrockett
04-10-2013, 07:55 PM
I am new to 12V wiring and I am having trouble wiring up a dual trumpet Ongaro marine horn. Using my multi meter I am reading a solid 12V power source going into a push button switch from the ignition switch and a solid 12V power source coming out of the push button switch. If I wire only the first trumpet to the output of the switch the trumpet blows perfectly. If I wire only the second trumpet to the output of the switch the trumpet blows perfectly. If I wire both trumpets to the output of the switch both trumpets produce a barely audible humming sound. I have tried wiring serial and parallel with the same results.

I am hoping a 12V expert just read the above and is laughing at my obvious mistake!

Any suggestions would really be appreciated.

Thanks for the help,

Mark

OLD HOUSEBOATER
04-10-2013, 09:57 PM
You need to run heavy wire from your 12v positive and negative bus bars and install a relay near the horn. you activate the relay with your push button switch.

The wiring from your push button switch is not heavy enough to carry multiple horns.

Stmbtwle
04-11-2013, 03:30 AM
Gotta agree with OHB. Electric horns draw a LOT of power and IMO are a constant headache.

Endurance
04-11-2013, 10:32 AM
As usual, OHB and Wilie nailed it. To know how big your wires need to be, it would be good if you could get the amperage draw for your horns. If you're lucky, it's written on a tag. Next best would be to get in touch with the manufacturer. If you don't luck out with these methods, you can hook it up with an ammeter in the wire. Wire sizing depends on a lot of factors like temperature, wire ratings, wet vs. dry, run length, and whether you're inside or outside an engine compartment. Having said that, here is a rough and dirty guide for moderate length runs:

10 amps - 16 gauge
15 amps - 14 gauge
20 amps - 12 gauge
30 amps - 10 gauge