Contact UsAdvertise

AFTERMARKET MANUFACTURERS BROKERS FORUMS
Administered by The Pirate
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Thread: Talk to me about saltwater

Talk to me about saltwater

Look I know I'm new to all this, but I'm sure I could make living on saltwater in the Florida Keys. I have researched and researched but I understand that reading is not doing. If anything Pirate you seem a little more positive then old houseboater. Not that I don't respect OHB's opinions but I've seen living on saltwater by many boats. I'm on here to understand and learn from others that could give me a heads up to what to expect. Not here that I should just move to Alabama instead of Florida, why don't I just buy a time share in a boat on Lake Powell(cuz I wanna live on my boat) no disrespect I'm just saying I want what I want and short of living on a yauht I'm pretty sure we can make it on a houseboat if I had a little backing with some support from others that have done it before!!!!!! Any SALTWATER, people that have the pros and cons of florida keys living with two people would be awesome. Thank you.

I am a saltwater boater. I had a 36' Gibson for about 5 years here in Pensacola. I ran a Bareboat Charter with it, and used the heck out of it. It did well on "inside big water", say 4 - 5 footers, and we got caught in storms many times, once for two days of a four day motor to New Orleans.

The boat will suffer from saltwater, and repairs will increase. I just included riser replacement on the twin 350 Crusaders, Vee Drive, as part of the same costs as fuel.

I see you may want to exist on a mooring. I prefer a wet slip. That way you have shore power and water. Grey water goes overboard. Blackwater in the holding tank. However, many docks also have showers and bathrooms available. Which we used to cut down on using the holding tank. However, a trip out of the slip always occurred for fun, and then a stop by the free pump out station was part of it.